TimeCard Software FAQ
Frequently Asked Questions

Questions:

  1. I'm getting a message stating that a record is locked by someone else, but I am the only user in TimeCard? Answer
  2. How do I move TimeCard to a new computer? Answer
  3. How do I install TimeCard for multiple users? Answer

Answers:

  1. I'm getting a message stating that a record is locked by someone else, but I am the only user in TimeCard?

    In any multi-user environment, care must be taken to make sure two users do not try to edit the same record at the same time. TimeCard handles this by marking a record as being locked. For any number of reasons, occasionally this lock does not get cleared when the changes are saved. If you are getting a message telling you a record is locked, and no other users are currently in TimeCard, then you need to run the ClearLock utility. You can either download the utility by clicking on the appropriate button below:

        For TimeCard Version 3.7

        For TimeCard Version 3.0 - Version 3.6

    or install it from your TimeCard CD. You can find the ClearLock utility on your CD by browsing to the ClearLock folder.

    Once you have installed the utility, a menu option will be added to the TimeCard program group on your Start button. Just run the utility to release any locked records.

  2. How do I move TimeCard to a new computer?

    Here are the steps necessary for moving TimeOff from one computer to another:

    1. Make a backup of your current data on the old workstation (select the Backup Database... option from the File menu) and save it in a location accessible to the new computer.
    2. Install TimeCard on your new workstation and start TimeOff (it will start up in trial mode).
    3. Restore your data from the backup (select the Restore from Backup... option from the File menu).

    Note that your Activation Key information is stored with your data so there is no need to re-enter the key.

  3. How do I install TimeCard for multiple users?

    To share TimeCard data between two or more users, the data files must be installed in a shared folder on your network. The application can either be installed on each workstation or in a shared folder on your network. If you install the application on each workstation, you will be prompted first for the location of the application files, and then for the location of the data files. Make sure to select the shared folder for the location of the data files.

    If you are installing both the TimeCard data files and the application on your network you should install the data files in a Data sub-folder of the application folder (M:\TimeCard and M:\TimeCard\Data for example). When creating shortcuts on each workstation then you will also need to run a utility that checks several networking settings in the Windows Registry on each workstation (to help prevent data corruption). You can download the utility from our web site by clicking on the following button:

    Also, note that users will need a minimum of Modify, Read, and Write privileges on the folder containing the data files.